Winner’s Press Conference: Germany

The winners of this years Eurovision Song Contest, Germany have held their press conference at the Telenor Arena in Oslo, where they spoke of their joy and jubilation of winning one of the worlds most popular music competitions.

Lena Meyer-Landrut arrived shortly after 01:00 CET to meet the worlds press, along with Stefan Raab and the composers and backing singers and representatives from German television. They sprayed bottles of champagne over the press and photographers, many carefully guarding their lenses in the process.

Naturally enough for the German winner, most of the questions came from the German media, and were asked and answered in German.

In fact Lena admitted she was more worried about the questions she was going to get in her exams coming up soon, rather than the questions from the press.

“I am completely freaking out”

Asked how she felt about winning the 2010 Eurovision Song Contest she replied “I am shocked, and I am very happy, it is so much to think about, I am so grateful in fact I am completely freaking out. Winning is a gut feeling, but it is not everything. It is awesome, but it is not life, and I want to enjoy it as much as I can”

In fact during the voting those around her told her she had won, but as there was so many countries still to vote, she hadn’t even realised that she couldn’t be caught. She added that she wanted to thank everyone who called and voted for her.

Stefan Raab thanked the composers for the song Satellite and the television show TV Total.

As to where the 2011 edition of Europe’s Favourite TV Show will be? That is undecided as there are many cities capable of hosting such a large event.. Munich, Berlin, Hannover… the list could go on. For tonight the Germans are going to celebrate and then start to work on that decision next week.

The German delegation will be flying home to Hannover tomorrow, and are expected in about 15:00 CET and will travel to the City Hall for a special celebration.


After an exciting voting in front of 18,000 people in a fully packed Oslo Telenor Arena and millions of TV viewers all over Europe, it was finally Lena from Germany who received the highest number of points from televoters and juries from the 39 countries participating in this year’s edition of Europe’s Favourite TV-show! Germany managed to gather 246 points altogether, followed by maNga from Turkey with 170 points and Ovi & Paula Selling from Romania who collected 162 points.

Europe experienced a breathtaking show live from the Telenor Arena in Oslo tonight with 25 acts from 25 countries giving their very best. 20 of these had qualified from the two Semi-Finals while host nation Norway and the so-called ‘Big Four’ – France, Germany, Spain and the United Kingdom – were automatically set for the Final. After all 39 countries had voted, it was Lena from Germany who was the lucky winner with his song Satellite, collecting 246 points altogether.

Pretty much out of nowhere – apart from the homemade dance videos and a few attempts with the school band – Lena conquered the audience’s heart during the national German final for the Eurovision Song Contest. “I didn’t tell my friends about my first casting for the show, so there wouldn’t be any stupid comments if I got kicked out straight away,” she says, thinking of her terrible stage fright. Even though Lena danced regularly during her childhood – from Ballet to Jazz and Hip Hop – she made her way to music without piano lessons or vocal training. But she got her chance, grabbed it and developed rapidly. Directly after the German national final, her single Satellite went to the top of all national charts and stayed there for weeks. Lena even created a new German download record: never before had a song sold so well in such a short time!

50% jury impact

The winner was decided by a mixture of 50% televote and 50% jury. For this purpose, national juries consisting of five music industry professionals gathered in all 39 participating countries who ranked the songs in Eurovision Song Contest style, giving 12 points to their favourite song, 10 points to their second favourite, etc. The results of the five jury members were then added up and accounted for 50% of the country’s votes. Those results were then combined with the televoting results.

The Spanish entry by Daniel Diges Algo Pequeñito (Something Tiny) was disturbed by a spectator jumping on the scene, so according to the rules, the song was performed again at the end.

Eurovision Song Contest 2010 Final

Place Country Performer Song Points
1 Germany Lena Satellite 246
2 Turkey maNga We Could Be The Same 170
3 Romania Paula Seling & Ovi Playing With Fire 162
4 Denmark Chanée & N’evergreen In A Moment Like This 149
5 Azerbaijan Safura Drip Drop 145
6 Belgium Tom Dice Me And My Guitar 143
7 Armenia Eva Rivas Apricot Stone 141
8 Greece Giorgos Alkaios & Friends OPA 140
9 Georgia Sofia Nizharadze Shine 136
10 Ukraine Alyosha Sweet People 108
11 Russia Peter Nalitch & Friends Lost And Forgotten 90
12 France Jessy Matador Allez Olla Olé 82
13 Serbia Milan Stanković Ovo Je Balkan 72
14 Israel Harel Skaat Milim 71
15 Spain Daniel Diges Algo Pequeñito (Something Tiny) 68
16 Albania Juliana Pasha It’s All About You 62
17 Bosnia & Herzegovina Vukašin Brajić Thunder And Lightning 51
18 Portugal Filipa Azevedo Há Dias Assim 43
19 Iceland Hera Björk Je Ne Sais Quoi 41
20 Norway Didrik Solli-Tangen My Heart Is Yours 35
21 Cyprus Jon Lilygreen & The Islanders Life Looks Better In Spring 27
22 Moldova Sunstroke Project & Olia Tira Run Away 27
23 Ireland Niamh Kavanagh It’s For You 25
24 Belarus 3+2 Butterflies 18
25 United Kingdom Josh That Sounds Good To Me 10

Oslo, venim!

Prezintă: Marina Almăşan Socaciu şi Bogdan Pavlica
Invitaţi: Paula Seling, Ovidiu Cernăuţeanu, Mircea Rusu Band, Cornelia şi Lupu Rednic, Grupul Allegretto, Dan Teodorescu, Ducu Bertzi, Felicia Filip şi K1, Direcţia 5,  Nicola.
Coproducţie TVR, SRR, Fundaţia Culturală Phoenix, Adevărul. Realizator Alina Niculescu
Transmisiune directă de la Sala Radio Producător tv.Marina Almăşan Socaciu

Eurovision Best Song – Oslo, 2010

Lena – Satellite (Germany)

Manga – We Could Be The Same (Turkey)

Giorgos Alkaios & Friends – OPA! (Greece)

SunStroke Project & Olia Tira – Run Away (Moldova)

Jessy Matador – Allez, Ola, Ole (France)

Milan Stankovic – Ovo Je Balkan (Serbia)

Anna Bergendahl – This Is My Life (Sweden)

Paula Seling & Ovi – Playing With Fire (Romania)

Harel Skaat – Milim (Israel)

Chanée & N’Evergreen – In A Moment Like This (Denmark)

Daniel Diges – Algo Pequeñito (Spain)